The Nine Winners Include Investigative Reporters, Advertising and Magazine Executives, Visual Journalists and Media Executives

Columbia, Mo. (July 11, 2012) — The 2012 winners of the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism were announced today by the Missouri School of Journalism.

The award, considered one of journalism’s most prestigious, honors career-long outstanding service to journalism. Among the distinguished journalists, advertising and public relations practitioners, business leaders, institutions and media organizations that have received the medal are Tom Brokaw, Christiane Amanpour, Sir Winston Churchill, Gloria Steinem, Deborah Howell and Gordon Parks.

The awards will be given during an evening banquet on Monday, Oct. 15, on the campus of the University of Missouri. Those to be honored are: